Data Systems Committee (DSC)

The NSF Ocean Observatories Initiative Facility Board (OOIFB) established the Data Systems Committee (DSC) to help ensure timely and reliable access to high-quality OOI data.

The DSC evaluates and recommends improvements to the data services policies and practices of the OOI Facility that will lead to more efficient and effective scientific use of OOI data. 

DSC Membership:

For all current and past committee member history, click HERE.

Tim Crone (Chair), Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
Richard Dewey, University of Victoria
Kristen Fogaren, Boston College
James Potemra, University of Hawaii
Mary Jo Richardson, Texas A&M
Richard Signell, US Geological Survey
Karen Bemis, Rutgers University
Orest Kawka, University of Washington (OOI appointee)
Anthony Koppers, Oregon State University (OOI appointee – 10/2020)

Ex-officio Members:
Kendra Daly, University of South Florida (OOIFB Chair)
Jeffrey Glatstein, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (OOI Data Delivery Manager)

The starting date for DSC membership is January 28, 2021. The membership of the DDCI Committee transitioned to the DSC and their staggered terms were maintained in the transition. The normal term is 3 years. Members are eligible for renewal to a second term. OOI nominates two members. New appointees will be made by the OOIFB. See the Terms of Reference (Charter, Annex I) for details on membership.

DSC action items and activities can be viewed at:  Action Items