Data Systems Committee (DSC)

The NSF Ocean Observatories Initiative Facility Board (OOIFB) established the Data Systems Committee (DSC) to help ensure timely and reliable access to high-quality OOI data.

The DSC evaluates and recommends improvements to the data services policies and practices of the OOI Facility that will lead to more efficient and effective scientific use of OOI data. 

MemberAffiliationPositionFirst TermSecond Term
James PotemraUniversity of Hawaii DSC Chair Interim5/2023- 09/2024
Shima AbadiUniversity of WashingtonDSC Member01/2023 – 12/2025
Karen Bemis Rutgers University DSC Member07/2021 – 09/202309/2023 – 09/2026
Teresa BurlingameNEON BattelleDSC Member10/2023 – 10/2026
Thomas ConnollyMoss Landing Marine LabDSC Member09/2023 – 09/2024
Richard Dewey University of VictoriaDSC Member09/2018 – 09/202109/2021 – 09/2024
Kristen Fogaren Boston College DSC Member07/2020 – 09/202209/2022 – 09/2025
Orest Kawka University of Washington OOI Appointee 09/2018 – XX
Craig Risien Oregon State University OOI Appointee 12/2021 – XX

Ex Officio DSC Members

Dax SouleQueens CollegeOOIFB Chair08/2022 – 11/2023**
Kendra Daly University of South Florida  Immediate Past OOIFB Chair 12/1/2024-XX
Jeffrey Glatstein Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution OOI Data Delivery Manager 09/2018 – XX

Past DSC Members

MemberAffiliationPositionFirst TermSecond Term
Anthony KoppersOregon State
OOI Appointee10/2020 – 11/2021
Christopher WingardOregon State
OOI Appointee09/2018 – 10/2020
Tom GulbransenBattelle Memorial
DDCI Member09/2018 – 09/202009/2020 – 02/2021
Dax SouleQueens College CUNYDDCI Member09/2018 – 09/201909/2019 – 04/2020
Rich SignellUS Geological SurveyDSC Member09/2018 – 09/201909/2019 – 09/2022
Tim CroneLamont-Doherty
Earth Observatory
DSC Chair09/2018 – 09/202109/2021 – 05/2023
Mary Jo RichardsonTexas A&MDSC Member09/2018 – 09/202009/2020 – 09/2023

The starting date for DSC membership is January 28, 2021. The membership of the DDCI Committee transitioned to the DSC and their staggered terms were maintained in the transition. The normal term is 3 years. Members are eligible for renewal to a second term. OOI nominates two members. New appointees will be made by the OOIFB. See the Terms of Reference (Charter, Annex I) for details on membership.

DSC action items and activities can be viewed at Action Items.