OOIFB Members

NSF selected the initial members of the OOIFB from a pool of nominations and self-nominations. Going forward, new appointees will be made by the OOIFB. As is normal when groups such as this are formed, members are given staggered terms. The normal term is 3 years. Members are eligible for renewal to a second term. OOI nominates two members.

Call for Applications: There is one open position on the OOIFB. For information on how to apply, click HERE. The deadline for applications is August 6th.

Current OOIFB Members

Member Affiliation Position First Term Second Term
Kendra Daly University of South FloridaOOIFB Chair11/2019 – 11/2021*11/2021 – 11/2023
Dax SouleQueens CollegeOOIFB Chair-Elect08/2022 – 11/2023**
James PotemraUniversity of HawaiiDSC Chair Interim (non-voting)05/2023 – 09/2024
Paulinus Chigbu University of Maryland Eastern ShoreOOIFB Member09/2021 – 05/202305/2023- 05/2026
Christopher EdwardsUC Santa CruzOOIFB Member11/2022 – 05/202305/2023- 05/2026
Ruoying He North Carolina State UniversityOOIFB Member05/2017 – 05/202105/2021 – 05/2024
Mike MugliaEast Carolina UniversityOOIFB Member09/2023-09/2024
John Wilkin Rutgers UniversityOOIFB Member05/2020 – 05/202105/2021 – 05/2024
Ed Dever Oregon State University OOI Appointee (non-voting)10/2018 – XX
Deborah Kelley University of WashingtonOOI Appointee (non-voting)05/2017 – XX

Notes about Membership:
* Kendra Daly is a charter member of the OOIFB with her first term starting in May 2017. She transitioned to the OOIFB Chair

position in November 2019.
** Dax Soule became a member of the OOIFB in April 2020. He was appointed to the Chair-Elect position in August 2022.

Past OOIFB Members

Member Affiliation Position First Term Second Term
Brian Glazer University of HawaiiOOIFB Member05/2017 – 05/202005/2020 – 06/2022
Sarah GilleScripps Institution of OceanographyOOIFB Member05/2017 – 05/202005/2020 – 06/2021
Larry AtkinsonOld Dominion UniversityOOIFB Past Chair05/2017 – 11/201911/2019 – 12/2020
James O’DonnellUniversity of ConnecticutOOIFB Member05/2017 – 05/201805/2018 – 05/2020
Sheri WhiteWoods Hole Oceanographic InstitutionOOI Appointee05/2017 – 09/2018
Tim CroneLamont-Doherty Earth ObservatoryDSC Chair09/2018 – 09/202109/2021 – 05/2023

The starting date for OOIFB membership was May 1, 2017. See the OOIFB Charter for details on membership.